Travel

The Windy City Mess

I woke up and my voice was gone and I had a sore throat. I had to wake up around 7:30 so I could go to my friend Sara’s house so we could head to the train station. We decided to go to a different train station than we normally do because it was more convenient coming back home because I had work. We put the address into the gps and realized that it was taking us to a different train station but it was okay because it was just the next stop for the train. We figured we were saving a little time. Sara was trying to find a parking spot while I am having a anxiety attack telling her to park any parking space I see. She decided to park in the free parking garage which was couple blocks from the station. As we were driving to the garage I turned around and saw the train. I was panicking trying to get everything out of the car as quickly as possible so we didn’t miss the train. We started sprinting to the station to find that the train had left. At this point it was 9:30 and the next train wasn’t until 10:30 which would mean we would’ve had arrived in Chicago at 12. That would’ve given us about 3 hours to lay out at the beach because we had to leave at 3 so I could get to work. We spontaneously decided we were going to road trip it to the city and pay for parking right on the beach. When we arrived at the beach it was extremely hot and regretted only bring two water bottles. It was supposedly the hottest day of summer! About a half an hour later our friends arrived from their train to the beach and it was fun (even though the water felt like snow)! We left around 4 o’clock because we wanted to beat traffic. We lost that battle. We got stuck in the beginning of traffic! Thankfully it was only 20 minutes!

IMG_3537.PNG

If you ever miss your train to somewhere that isn’t too far away I suggest driving! It’d be faster than waiting for the next train! Plus you can leave when you please!!

– Hailey Heavens

Leave a Reply

